- Last Updated: Dec 3, 2024 12:26 PM
- URL: https://guides.chicagocollections.org/chicagonewspapers
- Print Page
ASK Chicago Collections
Archival Sources Relating to Chicago Newspapers
Chicago American / Herald Examiner
- Chicago Herald and Examiner broadside collection, 1934 is held at the Chicago History Museum.
- Photograph collection relating to the Chicago American and other newspapers is held at the Chicago History Museum.
- The William Randolph Hearst papers held at the Bancroft Library at the University of California, Berkeley contains files on the Chicago American, the Herald American and the Chicago Herald Examiner.
Chicago Daily News
- Chicago Daily News Records, 1882-2007 are held at the Newberry Library in the Field Enterprises Records.
- Frank Knox Papers are held in the Library of Congress. Knox was the longtime publisher of the Chicago Daily News.
- Victor Lawson papers are held in the Newberry Library. Victor Lawson was Chicago Daily News publisher from 1876 - 1925.
Chicago Defender
- Chicago Defender Archives are held at the Defender offices.
- Abbott-Sengstacke Family Papers are held at the Chicago Public Library.
- Barbara E. Allen Papers, 1915-2010
Chicago Sun-Times
- Chicago Sun-Times Records, 1934-1984 are held at the Newberry Library in the Field Enterprises records.
- Marshall Field family papers, 1833-1985 held at the Chicago History Museum include papers on the Chicago Sun-Times, founded by Marshall Field III.
Chicago Tribune
- Joseph Medill Patterson Papers, 1901-1950 are held at Lake Forest College.
Chicago Inter Ocean
The Chicago Inter Ocean was a newspaper of national prominence for most of its existence from 1872 to 1914. In addition to covering local issues the Inter Ocean had reporters far afield chronicling events of national interest such as the Gold Rush in the Black Hills, wars between Native Americans and the US Government, and answering reader queries from as far away as California and New Hampshire. Notably, the Inter Ocean reported on and campaigned against the Ku Klux Klan during much of its existence. Also of note, suffragist Elizabeth Harbert maintained a column titled ‘Women’s Kingdom” for several years in the 1890s. Always a supporter of the Republican Party, the Inter Ocean was published for much of its existence by William Penn Nixon. Other publishers included traction magnate Charles Yerkes, Herman Kohlsaat, and George Wheeler Hinman. While other Chicago papers may have had higher local circulation none were able to match the Inter Ocean’s circulation throughout the Midwest and west in the late 19th century.
- Harold R. Heaton Political Cartoons, 1909-ca.1913. These cartoons were produced for the Inter Ocean.
- Al Chase [Scrapbooks of his writings for the Inter Ocean], 1909-1912.
Chicago Times (1854-1896)
In the mid to late 19th century the Chicago Times was not only a successful and yet polarizing publication; it was an innovator employing new methods of sensational journalism that would become commonplace in the 20th century. Abrasive and opinionated, publisher Wilbur Storey wanted the Times to be readable and contain stories that would interest the masses leading to coverage of murder, divorce, and robbery cases and reformatting the front page and headlines to be more readable. It should be noted that the Times was not just publishing scandals, the paper employed a foreign correspondent, occasionally took up anti-vice crusades, and, in 1881 published the entire New Testament in one of its editions. Storey was a "Copperhead", a northerner with southern sympathies during the Civil War. While Storey initially supported Abraham Lincoln at the onset of the war (Storey believed the union should be held together), he became enraged when Lincoln issued the Emancipation Proclamation. Storey's subsequent attacks on Lincoln led to the infamous seizure of his paper by Union troops for about 35 hours in 1863. Storey died in 1884 and the Times quickly receded in importance as a Chicago newspaper, finally being merged with the Chicago Herald in 1896 to form the Chicago Times Herald.
Books and Other Published Sources
WorldCat allows you to search the holdings of libraries around the world. Check to see if these titles are at a library near you! If not, see if a local public library or a university with which you are affiliated allows you to do interlibrary loan. WorldCat may not include images or summaries for all titles.
Chicago Defender by ISBN: 9780738561240Publication Date: 2012Containing hundreds of historic photographs, this book helps to tell the story of the Chicago Defender. Included are essays on Defender founder Robert Sengstacke Abbott, longtime Defender publisher John H. Sengstacke, Myrtle Sengstacke, Robert Sengstacke, and the Bud Billiken Parade.
The Defender by ISBN: 9780547560694Publication Date: 2016A detailed history by former Defender reporter Ethan Michaeli, this work provides details not only on the Defender itself but the local and national events that it influenced and was influenced by. Particular attention is given to the Defender's role in the Great Migration, and the Civil Rights Movement.
The African American Press by ISBN: 078640387xPublication Date: 1997This work examines the Chicago Defender along with three other prominent African American newspapers from the 20th century. A detailed examination of how the Defender and the other titles, The Pittsburgh Courier, The Black Dispatch, and The Jackson Advocate covered the Civil Rights Movement in the 1960s.
Dateline Chicago by ISBN: 0800821149Publication Date: 1973This work contains many interesting anecdotes from author's time with the Chicago Herald Examiner.
"Hearst Newspapers" in The Encyclopedia of Chicago by ISBN: 0226310159Publication Date: 2004This article provides a brief overview of the Hearst papers in Chicago that included the Chicago American, the Chicago Examiner and the. - The madhouse on Madison Street by Publication Date: 1965This work provides descriptions and highlights of the Hearst Chicago paper's most famous stories and employees. Provides a vivid backdrop to Chicago in the early to mid 20th century.
- Marshall Field III a biography by Publication Date: 1964A comprehensive biography of the Sun-Times founder that provides historical detail on the founding of the paper as well as Field's involvement with publishing. Particularly interesting is Field's shift to liberal viewpoints and the account of his work with organizations supporting children such as the Child Welfare League of America. These areas informed his work in publishing.
The Colonel by ISBN: 0810120399Publication Date: 2003This is the acclaimed biography of a giant of American journalism. As editor-publisher of the Chicago Tribune, Robert R. McCormick came to personify his city. Drawing on McCormick's personal papers and years of research, Richard Norton Smith has written the definitive life of the towering figure known as The Colonel.- An American Dynasty: The Story of the McCormicks, Medills and Pattersons by Publication Date: 1947The work chronicles the story of Joseph Medill and his building of the Chicago Tribune in to a successful newspaper and then describes descendants Robert McCormick, Joseph Patterson, and Eleanor "Cissy" Patterson and their influence on newspaper publishing in the early to mid 20the century. The author provides a scathing account of the family members propensity to use their newspapers, The New York Daily News, Chicago Tribune, and the Washington Times-Herald to promote their own political views regardless of the public good. This work provides an interesting history and view of newspaper publishing in the mid 20th century.
- "Tribune Company." in International directory of company histories
420-428. Vol. 147. byPublication Date: 2014
Chicago Inter Ocean
- The history of the Chicago Inter Ocean by Publication Date: 1940This masters thesis provides a detailed history of the Inter Ocean and includes letters from former staff members describing their times at the Inter Ocean. Available for in library use at Main Northwestern Library, Evanston Campus.
- Proceedings of the testimonial banquet given by the Old Inter Ocean Boys' Club to their former chief William Penn Nixon, at the Palmer House, Chicago, on the evening of November 22, 1904.Publication Date: 1905Also available online through Hathi Trust.
- A history of the city of Chicago, its men and institutions. Biographical sketches of leading citizens. Chicago, The Inter ocean, 1900Publication Date: 1900A history of the Inter Ocean is included on pages 30 -31.
Chicago Times
Chicago Newspapers (Source: Newberry Library)
